Event stream will begin

Mahler Chamber Orchestra
Mitsuko Uchida, Piano

Princeton University Concerts Debut


Thursday, March 24, 2022, 7:30 PM EDT


Richardson Auditorium, Alexander Hall


This concert is currently sold out. For any turn-back tickets, please call us on the morning of the concert (after 10AM) at 609-258-2800

Outstanding, like-minded instrumentalists who perform everything with the intimacy and subtlety of chamber music.”

—The Guardian

Concert Classics Series

Charles S. Robinson Memorial Concert

About the Event

After her debut on our series with the Mahler Chamber Orchestra was canceled in March 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic, legendary pianist Mitsuko Uchida makes a triumphant, long-anticipated return in two concerts that showcase the range of her prowess as both chamber musician and soloist—the first with tenor Mark Padmore (details here), and this second program with the Mahler Chamber Orchestra.

When composer Gustav Mahler came to Princeton University Concerts in 1911 conducting what is now the New York Philharmonic, this concert was one of many on the series by the world’s greatest orchestras at the time. His namesake orchestra was formed in 1997 by Claudio Abbado with a new tradition of orchestral playing in mind: as a nomadic, self-governing ensemble that translates a full orchestral sound into the intimacy of chamber music. Their long-term partnership with legendary pianist Mitsuko Uchida—one of the greatest living interpreters of Mozart’s keyboard music—is a gift that keeps on giving. It is an honor to welcome them to our hall, at last, led by concertmaster Mark Steinberg who is familiar to many in our audience as a member of the Brentano String Quartet, Princeton’s former ensemble-in-residence.

PLEASE NOTE: All attendees will be required to show photo ID and proof that they are fully vaccinated against COVID-19 to the maximum extent, which now includes a booster shot for all eligible to receive it. Please read our COVID-19 policies in advance of attendance.

Read More About Event


Mahler Chamber Orchestra

Mitsuko Uchida Piano

Mark Steinberg Violin/Concertmaster


  • Mozart

    Piano Concerto No. 23 in A Major, K. 488

  • Purcell

    Fantasia No. 11 à 4 in A Minor, Z. 740

  • Purcell

    Fantasia No. 9 à 4 in B-flat Major, Z. 736

  • Purcell

    Fantasia No. 10 à 4 in C Minor, Z. 738

  • Purcell

    Fantasia No. 13 à 5 in F Major, Z. 745 (Fantasia upon One Note)

  • Mozart

    Piano Concerto No. 24 in C Minor, K. 491


    Arnold Schoenberg — Six Little Piano Pieces, Op. 19 No. 2

View Digital Program

Discover More Like This